Cauliflower Hummus

I love Hummus and miss it dearly so I did a search for Paleo versions of Hummus and it looks like the magical ingredient is CAULIFLOWER!   Yes, I had to try it!  But which recipe should I try?  There are so many versions on the web.  Well, I researched and read many recipes and settled on trying “The Cave Woman Cafe” recipe  as it looked the most authentic, plus the story behind her recipe is so entertaining! 

 

I followed the recipe exactly and it was terrific.  It had that smooth creamy texture and the almond butter gave you a hint of tahini.  The only thing I added was some sea salt as I felt it needed a little pinch.  The recipe calls for 2 – 10 cloves of garlic, and I used 5 as I wasn’t sure how much to use.  It was probably a tad bit to garlicy for most people but it was good to me as I love garlic. 

So how much garlic should you use?  Well it is such a fickle ingredient.  Sometimes the bulb of garlic you choose may be a little mild and yet sometimes it may be very pungent.   I would suggest that you do what I plan to do the next time I make  it. Follow the recipe with just a couple of cloves of garlic and then taste it.  If you need to add more garlic then add it as you can always add more garlic, but you can’t take it away. 

I served this with some carrot chips and it was devoured, so I guess my guests agreed with me that it was pretty darn good!  Thanks Cave Woman Cafe!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ziabaki
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 23:17:12

    It is great isn’t it? Glad you liked it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

